Veg-Centric

November 29, 2010 § Leave a comment

Yahoo read my mind

http://shine.yahoo.com/event/green/how-to-make-quinoa-the-powerhouse-seed-2410950/

Veg-Centric – A meal surrounded around the veg

I was planning on sitting back, watching a movie, and letting my mom do all the cooking tonight.  She had big plans to make veggie dumplings and I was stoked.   She changed her mind last minute and decided to make spaghetti and meatballs instead.  To bad that was exactly what I had for lunch 😦

So I sucked it up and got cooking.  After all the heavy holiday eating, my body wanted something veg-centric. After a quick survey of my freshly stocked fridge,  I pulled out kale, string beans, broc, zucchini, and red peppers.

I washed, chopped and threw them in a pan with some veggie broth.

Seasoned with garlic and sea salt

and let it sit, covered on a low heat

Then I cooked up 1/2 a cup of quinoa in 1 cup of bowling water

Measure

Rinse

Cook for 15 minutes

Season with salt, pepper, garlic, Romano cheese, and dried basil.

Serve with veg, olives, and artichoke hearts.

mmm.

I had enough veg and quinoa to cover lunch tomorrow.

Light, fresh, delicious.

Happy eating<3

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Veg-Centric at juleats.

meta

