Hot Mess Baking-Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

November 27, 2010 § 3 Comments

Hot Mess: noun

Someone or Something that is such a mess… the level of it, is off of the charts.

aka me.

I am a hot mess every second of the day.  I am constantly frazzled,  never organized, I don’t do anything in order and I wing everything.

I also don’t measure. That is why it’s going to be really hard to give you a recipe for these.

Enter vegan peanutbutter cookies.

A special request from Sondra

adapted from OhSheGlows

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • A smidge of sea salt
  • 1/4 + 1 tablespoon of peanut butter
  • 1/4 a cup of Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour
  • pure maple syrup
  • vanilla extract
  • honey
  • almond milk
  • cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F

Combine flour, baking soda, sea salt and cinnamon into a medium sized bowl and mix

The recipe originally calls for one cup of peanut butter.  Now I’m all for high calorie desserts but if things can be substituted losing the taste, I go for it.  I subbed out most of the peanut butter for peanut flour.  Peanut flour is made from crushed peanuts with the oils extracted.   It cuts the calories dramatically but it stays high protein.  You’re supposed to mix the flour with water and get a peanut butter type substance.  I don’t use it on it own, because it lacks the really strong peanut flavor that I love.  Instead, I use it in baking or mix it with real peanut butter.  It also helps make the recipe less sticky.

In a different bowl mix peanut butter, peanut flour and water. Then stir

The end result will look like fluffy peanut butter.

Mix in a good pour of maple syrup and big drizzle of honey and stir.

(like I said, I don’t measure!)

Then combine with flour mixture

Add enough rice milk to make it moist

The dough felt like soft molding clay.

After tasting eating half of the dough(YAY for no eggs) I realized it wasn’t peanuty enough.  I added another blob of peanut butter.

Roll into balls then place on parchment paper

Cross hatch with damp fork

Pop into preheated oven for eleven minutes

YUM

Since the dough was so easy to mold, I created some little pitch pot cookies.  I am planning on filling them with warm chocolate then sharing them with my family eating them all.

Happy eating ❤


§ 3 Responses to Hot Mess Baking-Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot Mess Baking-Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies at juleats.

meta

